Local News

WOWO wins Medium Market Station of the Year

2022 NAB Marconi Awards
2022 NAB Marconi Awards - WOWO wins Medium Market Station of the Year - Photo Credit Mike Ragz

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WOWO) – The National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) has awarded WOWO as Medium Market Station of the Year.

WOWO was one of five finalists that included stations from Delaware, Michigan, Ohio, and Tennessee. The winner was announced on Wednesday, October 19 at the 2022 NAB Marconi Awards in New York.

Mike Ragz, Program Director for WOWO, was in attendance and accepted the award and said, “Thank you to WOWO, our staff, Federated Media, and Fort Wayne, what a great community.”

According to Radio Ink, the Marconi Awards were established in 1989 and named after the inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi.  The National Association of Broadcasters gives out the Marconi Awards to on-air personalities and radio stations to recognize excellence in radio.

Finalists for the Marconi Awards were selected by a task force of broadcasters.  Winners were then voted on by the NAB Radio Awards Selection Academy.  An Independent firm tabulated the votes.

Ryan Seacrest attended the event and was given the Distinguished Service Award, the National Association of Broadcasters’ highest honor. The award recognizes those who have made a significant and lasting contribution to the American system of broadcasting.

Fred and Paul Jacobs, researchers and leading industry consultants were given the 2022 National Radio Award recognizing their outstanding leadership in radio broadcasting.  According to the Marconi Awards website, this is the first time the National Radio Award has been given to two people.

Related posts

FWCS Back-to-School nights 2023

Eva Hallman

Fort Wayne Philharmonic moving to Purdue Fort Wayne

Ian Randall

Poll: Majority approve of 10-cent Indiana fuel tax increase

AP News

Leave a Comment