Indiana News

Indiana Statewide Officials Formally Sworn Into Office

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – The three women elected as Indiana's secretary of state, treasurer and auditor have formally taken their oaths of office.

Secretary of State Connie Lawson, Auditor Suzanne Crouch and Treasurer Kelly Mitchell were sworn in during a Statehouse ceremony Wednesday. The three Republicans won four-year terms won by wide margins in the November election.

Their terms started Jan. 1 but each had taken office earlier after their predecessors either resigned or were forced out. 

Lawson replaced former Secretary of State Charlie White in 2012 after he was convicted of voter fraud. Lawson says she has worked to focus on her duties and not on the controversy surrounding White.

Gov. Mike Pence appointed Crouch and Mitchell to their positions after the Republicans elected as state treasurer and auditor in 2010 resigned.

Related posts

Judge Delays Hearing on Indiana Nativity Scene

Kayla Blakeslee

Fort Wayne IT firm listed among top 100 security providers


Vectren Fined $100,000 Over Gas Explosion

Kayla Blakeslee